top of page

Sweet Heat Coconut-Lime Chicken and Cauliflower Rice

So this is what Iowa Girl Eats Recipe looked like-(which I found while browsing Pinterest) and below, you will find the recipe that I adapted mine from. There were some changes, as Sweet Chili Sauce has WAY too much sugar for my liking!

Also, I had to make a lot more coconut sauce. Apparently MY understanding of a medium head of cauliflower, is MUCH larger than a professional's. HAHA, There would have been no taste at all if I didn't use the whole can instead of 1/2 cup! LOL

You will see below as well, that my food photography skills need A LOT of work! It just doesn't have the same impact as Iowa girl's!

What I can vouch for is the taste! YUM YUM YUM...if you are looking for a low carb, high protein meal this recipe should come with you to the grocery store this week! AH-MAZ-ING, and who doesn't want the unlimited nutrients of Asparagus and stinky pee! The perfect accompaniment for extra color!

Jeff the Chef approved, but I think that maybe he just really appreciates ANY TIME I'm willing to do some cooking so he can relax and not have to think up something fancy. I still don't think he's figured out that I could eat the most bland food every single day and still be happy. I just love ALL FOOD!...well actually, that IS what I did before I met him, haha.

MY UGLIER VERSION but OH SO GOOD

My uglier Version

You can find THE Iowa Girl Eats Recipe at the link above, or you can try my more Keto Friendly Low Sugar Version below (still not perfect keto cause I used fake dressing for the sweet and tangy flavor and WAY fewer calories....then you get to eat more!)

It's all about volume for me! This recipe is perfect if you are the type who loves to go WAY OVER on portion size, but without the guilt!

It's time to be 100% satisfied and feeling full, without the guilt :)

Steph's Version of Sweet Chili and Coconut Lime Chicken and Cauliflower Rice

Ingredients

  • 1 Can of unsweetened light coconut milk, divided

  • 1/2 cup of Light Catalina Style Dressing (I used one with extra herbs)

  • 1 lime

  • salt and pepper

  • 2-3 Tablespoons of Sriracha or another Hot Sauce

  • 1-1/2lbs chicken breasts

  • 1 Large head cauliflower, grated

  • 1 Medium Onion, Chopped

  • 2-3 Cloves of Garlic, Chopped

  • 1-1/2 Tablespoons coconut oil

  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped

Directions
For the Cauliflower Rice-Use a food processor, blender, cheese grater, or buy it already riced from the store!
  1. Combine 1/2 cup coconut milk, Sweet Dressing, Sriracha or Hot Sauce and the juice of 1/2 lime in a large Ziplock bag. Add salt and pepper then squish to combine. Add chicken breasts then marinate for 30 minutes - 1 hour in the refrigerator.

  2. Bake or Grill chicken breasts for 4-5 minutes on the first side, then 3-4 minutes on the second side, depending on how big they are and how well done you like them. Remove to a plate to rest for 5 minutes.

  3. Meanwhile, heat coconut oil in a very large skillet over medium/medium-high heat (6 out of 10.) Add Onion and Garlic, and Cook a couple of minutes, Add cauliflower, season liberally with salt and pepper, and then saute until tender, 5-7 minutes. Squeeze in juice from remaining lime half then add the rest of the can of Light Coconut Milk.. depending on how coconutty you want it. ( I think you'll want it all) Add cilantro then stir to combine. Taste then add salt and pepper if necessary. Scoop onto plates then top with chicken.

  4. I baked one Bunch of Asparagus on a Baking sheet at the same time I was baking the chicken. All it has is a light drizzle of good quality olive oil, salt and pepper

Let me know what you think if you make it! It's a keeper for me, and trust me, you won't miss the rice!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
No tags yet.
bottom of page